Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 6th, 2008

The News

Cartoonist RK Laxman being given 'Life Time Achievement Award' at the age of 97.

This is what I call news! I switched over to The Hindu very recently.. and before I knew it, my decision was totally right[for a change, coz I’m not actually used to it you see].

Remember some ‘Geetanjali Nagpal’? Yes! That super model of yester years whom drugs annihilated, perhaps suicidally. Whatever! Why do we have to care so much? This was not the only case of drug abuse witnessed. And there are still zillions of acute despondent people, living in all the more acute penury. Why do news-paperwallahs bring that into forefront, if they so much want to do the social work. Just cheap, desperate and probably “glamorous” publicity stunt.

Compare that to this. One of finest avant-garde our country has ever produced, was awarded ‘Life Time Achievement Award’ at the age of 97.. and how many cameras were flashing blinding light? Possibly, just one! And hence I got the pic, and hence you’re reading. There are very very few things published in newspapers which strike a cord really deep down, and that too instantaneously! This was definitely the one for me.

I’ll not say much. Rather you’ve to comment much, or say, or at the least think.

***

Why do people with initials ‘SR’ keep on repudiating me? 😦

Read Full Post »