Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 23rd, 2007

Reading Is..

Of late[I mean since the commencing of this semester] I’ve been reading a lot. A lot. I’ve always been an avid reader, but now I don’t know why I am experiencing this very strong and irresistible urge to simply gorge upon every book I’ve ever heard of.

Reading has been my most coveted leisure-time activity from the time I can think of. It started with hindi graphic comics ( Nagraj, Dhruv.. if you know what am I talking about). Then it went on to children’s magazines( Nanhe Samrat was my favourite.. it still is, although I do not read it anymore but I’d prefer it to whosoever asks my opinion for) , to Cricket magazines to Football magazines to sports magazines in general to India Todays and Outlooks to Reader’s Digest to…

Undoubtedly, reading does change personality, broadening his/her horizon of thinking and it reflects in the way he/she speaks and put forth their point of view. Thats the most general notion about reading is. But the other day, one of my friends introduced me to a newer concept.. A concept which I never thought of. He said[ nevertheless the fact that he too is a voracious reader.. Hindi/English alike] that reading makes people more and more materialistic. The more one reads.. the more materialistic he/she is. Brooding over it, and seeing my acquaintances in light of this thought.. It made me realize how very right he is! Of all the materialistic people I know, they read a lot. And the people who don’t read ain’t materialistic as well. And to consolidate it even further.. I’ve realized how very materialistic I’ve turned! As far as I can think of myself.. I was never like this. This latent morphosis.. when does it took place, I’ve no idea. But being so isn’t as bad. Atleast, I think so for the time being…

Read Full Post »